Skip to main content

Truck Tracks Ruhr - The Compilation

Video Exhibition  August 19th - September 30th 2017
Tuesday –Sunday, 1:00 – 9:00 pm
Venue: Mischanlage, Kokerei Zollverein, Essen
entrance free


A piece of waste ground in Oberhausen, which local children call The Land of the Future, a swimming pool in Recklinghausen accompanied by the sound of machine guns, an open microphone outside Dortmund main station, the escalator of a Mülheim shopping centre set to music as a film scene.


Over the course of a year Rimini Protokoll has invited 49 artists to bring audiences closer to 49 different locations in the Ruhr region: places which are unusual and normal, central and out of the way, meaningful and elusive. Sitting in a converted lorry, the audience can look through a glass screen at their city and the chosen locations, while listening to the short audio works which have been conceived for them.


In seven albums, each with seven tracks, the work casts new perspectives on Europe’s most densely populated region from Duisburg via Bochum to Essen. For “five minutes of fame” the incidental events beyond the glass screen become miniature dramas.


The filmmakers Ulrike Franke and Michael Loeken have accompanied the project. The resulting films have now been brought together in a video installation at the Kohlenmischanlage Zollverein. The stories and perspectives are edited together into a compilation on seven screens, thus removing the separation of locations in time and space. Visitors find themselves in an audio-visual landscape which becomes a composite artistic image of the Ruhr region.

Exhibition opening: August 19th  1.00 pm
Venue: Mischanlage, Kokerei Zollverein, Essen
entrance free

  • Curation
    • Rimini Protokoll (Begrich, Haug, Kaegi, Karrenbauer) and Loekenfranken
  • Video
    • loekenfranke
  • Music
    • Rasmus Nordholt / Frank Böhle

With Audiotracks from:

Jörg Albrecht (author, stage director, Berlin) #7

Auftrag : Lorey (concepts, stage directors, Hamburg) #7

Lotte van den Berg (stage directors, Amsterdam) #6

Mariola Brillowska (performer, audio play maker, Hamburg) #2

Enoch Cheng (video artist, Hongkong) #1

Dankwart & Kühlein (audio play maker, Berlin) #4

dorisdean (performance collective, Bochum/NRW) #6

Tobias Dusche (theatre maker, Stuttgart) #7

Jan Ehlen + Elisa Kühnl (media artist, Mülheim an der Ruhr) #5 

Gob Squad + Jeff McGrory (performance collective, Berlin) #6

Mathew Goulish / Lin Hixson (stage directors, Chicago) #7

Thilo Guschas (journalist, Hamburg) #7

Ant Hampton (installations, stage director, Brussels) #3

Anne Habermehl (author, Berlin) #1

Britt Hatzius (video artist, Brussels/London) #1

Jens Heitjohann (stage director / researcher, Berlin/Leipzig) #4

Herbordt/Mohren (concepts und theatre duo, Stuttgart) #4

kainkollektiv (artists team, Bochum) #6

Schorsch Kamerun (author, stage director, musician, Berlin) #5

Andreas Kebelmann & Robert Schmidt (stage director, audio play author, Recklinghausen / author, stage director, Berlin) #2

Martin Kindervater (stage director, Oberhausen/Munich) #1

Anna Kpok (performance collective, Bochum) #3

Marcus Lindeen (artist, author, stage director, Stockholm) #3

Robert Lippok und Sebastian Baumgarten (musician / stage designer, Berlin) #5

Hans-Peter Litscher (performance artist, Paris) #1

Markus&Markus (theatre collective, Hildesheim) #6

Amirhossein Mashaherifard (stage director / dramaturg, Teheran) #5

Michaela Melián (audio artist, Munich) #7

Clemens Meyer & Johannes Kirsten (author, Leipzig / dramaturg, Hannover) #2

Felix Meyer-Christian / Costa Compagnie (stage director, author, Berlin/Hamburg) #3

mercimax (performance collective, Zurich) #1

Ersan Mondtag (stage director, Berlin) #2

Barbara Morgenstern (musician, Berlin) #7

Gerardo Nauman (stage director, author, Buenos Aires) #5

Florian Neuner (author, Berlin) #6

Richard Ortmann (sound archivist, Dortmund) #4

Peng! Kollektiv (theatre collective, Berlin) #4

Mariano Pensotti (author, stage director, Buenos Aires) #1

Davy Pieters (stage director, Amsterdam) #3

Tobias Rausch (stage director, Berlin) #2

Katia Reshetnikova (sound artist, Moscow)  #2

Sonya Schönberger (artist, Berlin) #3

Laila Soliman (stage director, Cairo) #5

Marike Splint (stage director, Amsterdam/Los Angeles) #4

Subbotnik (theatre collective, Düsseldorf/Cologne) #4

Dries Verhoeven (artist, Utrecht) #6

Soeren Voima (author, Äkäslompolo) #2

Antje Vowinckel (sound artist, Berlin) #5

Wojtek Ziemilski (stage director, artist, Poland) #3